Oskar Hes and Jan Nedbal in Brothers (2023)

‘Brothers’ (Bratři) leads 2024 Czech Lion Award nominations with 15

Tomáš Mašín‘s Brothers (Bratři) has emerged as the front-runner in the nominations for the 2024 Czech Lion Awards, the Czech Republic’s version of the Oscars, receiving a total of 15 nominations.

Telling the story of the anti-communist resistance group founded by Mašín brothers (distant relatives of the director) and their daring escape to West Berlin, the film has garnered critical acclaim for its historical portrayal and compelling narrative.

Brothers was previously selected as the Czech Republic’s official submission to the 2024 Academy Awards in the category of Best International Film, but has not been shortlisted for the award and will not receive a nomination.

Following closely behind Brothers in this year’s Czech Lion Awards is the period detective period film We Have Never Been Modern (Úsvit) directed by Matěj Chlupaček, with 12 nominations. We Have Never Been Modern, which explores themes of ambiguous gender and intersexuality, previously played in competition at the 2023 Karlovy Vary International Film Festival.

Eliška Křenková in We Have Never Been Modern (2023)
Eliška Křenková in We Have Never Been Modern (2023)

Director Robert Hloz’s sci-fi thriller Restore Point (Bod obnovy), which played at film festivals around the world after premiering in Karlovy Vary, received a total of eight Czech Lion Award nominations. Jan Vejnar’s black comedy-horror film She Comes at Night (Přišla v noci) also received eight nominations.

The psychological thriller The Exhale (Němá tajemství), which was also helmed by Brothers‘ director Tomáš Mašín, and the tragicomedy Dance, Matilda (Tancuj, Matyldo) received seven Czech Lion nominations apiece, while Jan Pachl’s TV miniseries Volga (Volha) received six nominations.

Up for Best Feature Film at the 2024 Czech Lion Awards will be Brothers, We Have Never Been Modern, She Comes at Night, The Exhale, and Dance, Matilda. Each of these films has also been nominated for Best Director, with Tomáš Mašín taking a pair of nominations in this category. Despite its international success, Restore Point is a notable absence from these categories.

The Czech Film and Television Academy announced the nominations for 2024 Czech Lion Awards this morning, along with a pair of non-statutory awards: Restore Point received the Film Fans Award, given out in cooperation with movie database website ČSFd.cz, while The Exhale won an award for Best Movie Poster.

The 2024 Czech Lion Awards will be presented during a gala ceremony at Prague’s Rudolfinum on Saturday, March 9. They will be preceded by the Czech Film Critics Awards, which will be announced on February 3.

These are the full nominations for 2024 Czech Lion Awards:

Best Feature Film

  • Brothers
  • We Have Never Been Modern
  • She Came at Night
  • The Exhale
  • Dance, Matilda

Best Documentary Feature

  • Blix Not Bombs
  • My Paradise Is Darker Than Your Hell (Moje nebe je horší než tvoje peklo)
  • The Visitors (Návštěvníci)
  • The Great Nothing (Velké nic)
  • All Ends Well (Všechno dobře dopadne)

Best Director

  • Tomáš MašínBrothers
  • Tomáš MašínThe Exhale
  • Tomáš Pavlíček, Jan Vejnar – She Came at Night
  • Petr Slavík – Dance, Matilda
  • Matěj Chlupáček – We Have Never Been Modern

Best Actress

  • Tatiana Dyková Vilhelmová – Brothers
  • Jana Plodková – The Exhale
  • Simona Peková – She Came at Night
  • Regina Rázlová – Dance, Matilda
  • Eliška Křenková – We Have Never Been Modern

Best Actor

  • Oskar Hes – Brothers
  • Jan Nedbal – Brothers
  • David Prachař – A Sensitive Person (Citlivý člověk)
  • Karel Roden – Dance, Matilda
  • Kryštof Hádek – Volga

Best Supporting Actress

  • Karolína Lea Nováková – Brothers
  • Denisa Barešová – The Body (Její tělo)
  • Milena Steinmasslová – The Exhale
  • Annette Nesvadbová – She Came at Night
  • Martha Issová – We Have Never Been Modern

Best Supporting Actor

  • Václav Neužil – Restore Point
  • Stefan Konarske – Brothers
  • Jiří Rendl – She Came at Night
  • Antonio Šoposki – Dance, Matilda
  • Tomáš Jeřábek – Volga

Best Screenplay

  • Brothers – Marek Epstein
  • The Exhale – Alice Nellis
  • She Came at Night – Tomáš Pavlíček, Jan Vejnar
  • Dance, Matilda – Nataša Slavíková, Petr Slavík
  • We Have Never Been Modern – Miro Šifra

Best Cinematography

  • Restore Point – Filip Marek
  • Brothers – Friede Clausz
  • A Sensitive Person – Dušan Husár
  • The Exhale – Anna Smoroňová
  • We Have Never Been Modern – Martin Douba

Best Editing

  • Restore Point – Jarosław Kamiński
  • Brothers – Petr Turyna
  • The Exhale – Michal Hýka, Filip De Pina
  • She Came at Night – Jakub Vansa
  • We Have Never Been Modern – Pavel Hrdlička

Best Sound Design

  • Restore Point – Lukáš Ujčík, Samuel Jurkovič, Jan Šulcek
  • Brothers – David Titěra, Viktor Ekrt
  • She Came at Night – Michaela Patríková
  • Tony, Shelly and the Magic Light – Péter Benjámin Lukács
  • We Have Never Been Modern – Pavel Rejholec, Peter Hilčanský, Tomáš Zůbek

Best Music

  • Restore Point – Jan Šléška
  • Brothers – Karel Havlíček
  • A Sensitive Person – Jonatan Pjoni Pastirčák
  • Dance, Matilda – Michal Pavlíček
  • We Have Never Been Modern – Simon Goff

Best Set Design

  • Restore Point – Ondřej Lipenský
  • Brothers – Milan Býček
  • A Sensitive Person – Stella Šonková
  • We Have Never Been Modern – Henrich Boráros
  • Volga – Jan Vlasák

Best Costumes

  • Restore Point – Ivan Stekla, Eliška Krejzová
  • Brothers – Ján Kocman
  • The Chambermaid (Služka) – Katarína Štrbová Bieliková
  • We Have Never Been Modern – Jarmila Dunděrová
  • Volga – Vladimíra Pachl Fomínová

Best Makeup

  • Restore Point – Vladimír Wittgruber
  • Brothers – Adéla Anděla Bursová
  • A Sensitive Person – Andrea Štrbová
  • We Have Never Been Modern – Lenka Nosková, Martin Jankovič
  • Volga – Martin Valeš, Jana Bílková, Martin Větrovec

Best TV Film or Miniseries

  • Into the Darkness (Cesta do tmy)
  • Docent
  • Mathematics of Crime (Matematika zločinu)

Best TV series

Best Animated Film

  • Dede Is Dead (Deniska umřela)
  • Electra
  • Tony, Shelly and the Magic Light (Tonda, Slávka a kouzelné světlo)

Best Short Film

  • Atestace – directed by Jan Hecht
  • Jsme v tom spolu – directed by Anna Wowra
  • Osmý den – directed by Petr Pylypčuk

Magnesia Prize for Best Student Film

  • Deniska umřela – directed by Philippe Kastner
  • Doprovázení – directed by Vojtěch Konečný
  • Electra – directed by Daria Kashcheeva
  • Jsme v tom spolu – directed by Anna Wowra
  • Osmý den – directed by Petr Pylypčuk


Jason Pirodsky

Jason Pirodsky

Jason Pirodsky has been writing about the Prague film scene and reviewing films in print and online media since 2005. A member of the Online Film Critics Society, you can also catch his musings on life in Prague at expats.cz and tips on mindfulness sourced from ancient principles at MaArtial.com.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *