Prague’s Bio Oko to Screen 50 CZK Movies Through Christmas

Prague’s Bio Oko to Screen 50 CZK Movies Through Christmas

It’s Christmastime in Prague, and that means the festive Holešovický filmový advent (Holešovice Film Advent) is back at popular Prague 7 cinema and hangout Bio Oko. 

A spiritual successor to sister cinema Kino Aero’s Prague Film Summer, where the Prague 3 cinema screened a weekday film at the low-low cost of 50 CZK all August, Holešovice Film Advent will be delivering the same during the month of December all the way up through Christmas Day.

And the selection of film is strong, featuring some of the most popular and best-reviewed movies of the year. If you haven’t yet seen Dunkirk, The Big Sick, Baby Driver, Wind River, and others, here’s your chance to catch up at a discount. 

Czech movies screened during the month (the Oscar-submitted The Ice Mother, the excellent documentary Červená, and the wonderful Barefoot) will be screened with English subtitles. 

The screenings will culminate on Christmas day with a special presentation of one of the best movies ever made: the Humphrey Bogart-Ingrid Bergman classic Casablanca

Czech Casablanca trivia: one of the key figures in the film is Ilsa’s husband Victor Laszlo, a Czech resistance fighter played by Paul Henreid. 

In addition to the 50 CZK daily screenings, Holešovice Film Advent will also include free showings of animated Czech fairy tales for children (in Czech without subtitles) on December 5 (Mikuláš night) and December 24 to help get in the Christmas spirit.

Also screened during the winter festivities will be Christmas-themed ballet (the Royal Opera House’s Alice in Wonderland and The Nutcracker), opera (New York Metropolitan Opera’s Hansel and Gretel) and a music concert (Metallica Quebec Magnetic).

Holešovice Film Advent is run in conjunction with the city of Prague 7. 

Here’s the full schedule of Bio Oko’s Christmas events:

Monday, December 4: 
18:00: The Ice Mother (50 CZK; in Czech with English subtitles)

Tuesday, December 5: 
16:00: Traditional Mikuláš greetings for kids in front of the cinema (no charge)
17:30: Špekáček & Feferonka (no charge)
18:45: Mrazivá tajemství (no charge)
20:30: Royal Opera House: The Nutcracker (300 CZK)

Wednesday, December 6:
18:00: Baby Driver (50 CZK)

Thursday, December 7: 
18:00: The Big Sick (50 CZK)

Friday, December 8: 
18:00: Wind River (50 CZK)

Sunday, December 10: 
15:00: Royal Opera House: Alice in Wonderland (250 CZK)

Monday, December 11: 
18:00: The Other Side of Hope (50 CZK; in Finnish with Czech subtitles)

Tuesday, December 12: 
18:00: Červená (50 CZK; in Czech with English subtitles)

Wednesday, December 13:
18:00: Perfect Strangers (50 CZK; in Italian with Czech subtitles)

Thursday, December 14: 
18:00: La La Land (50 CZK)

Friday, December 15: 
18:00: Dunkirk (50 CZK)

Sunday, December 17: 
15:00: Metropolitan Opera: Hansel & Gretel (350 CZK)

Monday, December 18: 
18:00: Paterson (50 CZK)

Tuesday, December 19: 
18:00: Anthropoid (50 CZK)

Wednesday, December 20:
18:00: Barefoot (50 CZK; in Czech with English subtitles)

Thursday, December 21: 
18:00: C'est la vie! (50 CZK; in French with Czech subtitles)

Friday, December 22: 
18:00: The Beguiled (50 CZK)

Saturday, December 23: 
18:00: Earth: One Amazing Day (50 CZK; Czech-dubbed version)

Sunday, December 24:
11:00: Pohádky pod stromeček (no charge)
13:00: Čarodějné pohádky (no charge)

Monday, December 25: 
18:00: Casablanca (50 CZK)

Lead photo: Humphrey Bogart and Ingrid Bergman in Casablanca

Catch Prague’s Only English-Subtitled Screening of ‘Thelma’ at Kino Pilotů, December 4

Catch Prague’s Only English-Subtitled Screening of ‘Thelma’ at Kino Pilotů, December 4

English-Language Staging of Cimrman’s ‘Pub in the Glade’ a Hoot

English-Language Staging of Cimrman’s ‘Pub in the Glade’ a Hoot